Back in the year 2000, I’d already played a fair few video games in my then-short life, but I’d never really been the driving force behind purchasing one. Even kid-oriented favourites like Lego Island and Detective Barbie had, I recall, been given to me in the way that toys just sort of arrive in childrens’ lives sometimes. That changed when I saw one of these adverts, which I highly encourage you to check out for yourself right now: I knew immediately that I needed to play this game. I was just on the cusp of beginning to outgrow playing with dolls, and this ad campaign for The Sims presented me with the concept of a more grown-up digital toybox. My make-believe games with Barbie, Polly Pocket, et al had been taking on a darker flavour recently, due to my burgeoning obsession with TV shows like Buffy and X-Files. And now, here was a game that let you play house with your dream spouse and throw a hot tub murder party for the Grim Reaper! My 10-year-old self regarded this as the absolute best of both worlds, and you know what? At 32, I’m still inclined to agree with her.