It’s not quite half-price (that would be £340), but cor, that’s still a heck of a lot of storage for the money. Compare that to the £300 you’d spend getting WD’s 2TB Black SN750 Heatsink NVMe SSD for £72 less than normal, and you certainly can’t argue with it on a value for money front. Naturally, an external hard drive will be quite a bit slower than your typical NVMe drives, and indeed, the pair of WD Red drives inside the My Book Duo Desktop have a read speed of just 360MB/s. Yes, that’s 360MB/s, not the close to 3600MB/s speeds you’ll get with the Black SN750 (all right, technically it’s 3470MB/s, but you know what I mean). Still, I don’t think I’d ever need to buy another bit of storage again if I had a 20TB mega box plonked on my desk, which is a pretty tempting proposition, I must say. The My Book Duo Desktop is pretty up to date on its USB standards, too. There’s a USB-C port that supports the semi-recent USB 3.1 standard, for example, and it comes with both USB-C to C and USB-C to A cables, too, giving you plenty of flexibility. It would have been nice to see support for the latest USB 3.2 Gen 2 standard, sure, but man alive, just think of all those thousands of gigabytes inside… It also comes with its own auto-back-up software, too, so you don’t have to worry about backing-up your PC manually, either. Very handy indeed.