If you’re unfamiliar with Yakuza, all you need to know is it’s the perfect mix of melodrama and karaoke. And it makes me a very happy boy. And, for that reason alone, I thought it would be nice – given the hell year that refuses to end – to share that joy with you. So, welcome to LollaYakuza. Obviously the name was the first thing I thought of.

Essentially, this is a relaxed, weekly let’s play series, where I’ll be playing through the game for the first time and then publishing chunks of it on the internet for you to watch. I say ;let’s play’, but this is a Yakuza game, so there’s a decent amount of just watching in this first episode. The game is introducing a new cast of characters and setting up the plot… and it’s a Yakuza game, so it’s to be expected, really. If you’re thinking of picking the game up yourself, then you can look at this first episode as a little preview, because you’ll get to see the entirety of chapter one. I’ve only cut out the non-essential stuff. It’s all meat, all the time. I hope you enjoy this first episode and that you’ll come on this journey with me. I also really hope you enjoy the theme song.